New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0

Porcupine Tree

Porcupine Tree - Up The Downstair


New 2021 Transmission Label pressing

Up the Downstair is the second studio album by Porcupine Tree, first released in May 1993.

It was originally intended to be a double album set including the song “Voyage 34”, which was instead released as a single in 1992, and other material that ended up on the Staircase Infinities EP (1994). In 2005, it was partially re-recorded, fully re-mixed, remastered and re-released along with the Staircase Infinities EP as a double album. The re-release contains a new mix by Steven Wilson, along with recorded drums by Gavin Harrison that replace the electronic drums of the original version.

Steven Wilson has stated that the title of the album came from a line in the song “Voyage 34.”

Track listing 

1. What You Are Listening To... [0:57]
2. Synesthesia [5:13]
3. Monuments Burn Into Moments [0:26]
4. Always Never [7:13]
1. Up The Downstair [10:13]
1. Not Beautiful Anymore [3:26]
2. Siren [0:53]
3. Small Fish [2:49]
1. Burning Sky [11:42]
2. Fadeaway [6:19]

Colin Edwin – Bass guitar on “Always Never”
Richard Barbieri – Electronics on “Up the Downstair”
Suzanne J. Barbieri – Vocals on “Up the Downstair”
Gavin Harrison – Drums 
Alan Duffy – co-songwriting on “Always Never”, “Small Fish”, “Fadeaway” & “The Joke’s on You”

Share this Product

More from this collection