New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

Damien Rice

Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

Co-produced with the great Rick Rubin, the record is Rice’s first collection of new material in eight years. My Favourite Faded Fantasy follows the seminal O which sold two million copies worldwide, won the prestigious Shortlist Prize, spent 10 weeks on the Billboard 200 and spent 80 weeks on the U.K. chart - as well as its million-selling, Brit-nominated follow-up, 9.
“Sometimes you have to step away from what you love in order to learn how to love it again,” says Rice regarding the long gap between albums. Whilst fans would repeatedly ask “when?,” for Rice the real question had shifted to “why make an album at all?” My Favourite Faded Fantasy suggests that the answer may have been staring right back at him all along. Here is a selection of songs, which Rice says are “sung straight into the metaphorical mirror.” Intimate, frank and revitalized by making music again, My Favourite Faded Fantasy is a record that accepts one’s faults but also begins, perhaps, to appreciate one’s ability to grow up.
The recording process with producer Rubin began in Los Angeles and finished up in Iceland. “I came to Rick mostly based on what I didn’t know about him, rather than what I did,” describes Rice. “For some reason I just had a feeling that I would feel comfortable being open and being me and being vulnerable with Rick.” Rubin, meanwhile, first saw Rice play live around the release of O, and recalls that “he was my favorite new artist at the time. A lot of our work together was to help him see what was so clear to everyone else in the room.” Rice then went from Los Angeles to Iceland and assembled a cast of friends and local musicians to complete My Favourite Faded Fantasy against the stunning backdrop of Reykjavik.
Over the course of his 12-year solo career Damien Rice has been called “nothing short of a complete package of art, personality and presence” (Los Angeles Times) and “the most poignant and scrappy songwriter around” (Newsweek), releasing two full-length albums, two live recordings and an EP. 
Track Listing:
1.  My Favourite Faded Fantasy
2.  It Takes a Lot to Know a Man
3.  The Greatest Bastard
4.  I Don’t Want to Change You
5.  Colour Me In
6.  The Box
7.  Trusty and True
8.  Long Long Way


Share this Product

More from this collection