New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0

Weather Station, The

Weather Station, The - Ignorance - Deluxe Edition (Blue Vinyl)


Deluxe edition 2xLP Blue vinyl with Gold Obi Strip
The brand new album from Tamara Lindeman’s project The Weather Station, produced by Marcus
Paquin(Arcade Fire producer). Singles from the album have been widely lauded from Pitchfork [Best New Track], NPR, Stereogum, The FADER, Guardian, NY Times and countless others.

Deluxe version of one of the albums of the year. LP1 contains the original 10 songs from Ignorance, with LP2 containing two new songs (Better Now and Look), plus 3 live Ignorance tracks, along with four reimagined and stripped back Ignorance favourites.

The Weather Station - project of Tamara Lindeman - releases her new album, Ignorance, on Fat Possum. Through Ignorance, Lindeman has remade what The Weather Station sounds like, using the occasion of a new record to create a novel sonic landscape, tailor-made to express an emotional idea. Ignorance is sensuous, ravishing, as hi-fi a record as Lindeman has ever made, breaking into pure pop at moments, at others a dense wilderness of notes; a deeply rhythmic and painful record that feels more urgent and clear than her work ever has. Ignorancebegan when Lindeman became obsessed with rhythm; specifically straight rhythm, dance rhythm, those achingly simple beats that had never showed up on a Weather Station album before. The album marks Lindeman’s first experience writing on keyboard, not guitar, and her first time building out arrangements before bringing them to a band. Montreal producer Marcus Paquin (Arcade Fire) co-produced, with Lindeman, and also mixed the record. The lyrics across Ignorance roil with conflict. The narrator confronts characters who turn away from love. “I used to be an actor, now I’m a performer,” Lindeman says. In those roles she often finds herself to be the subject of projection, reflecting back the ideas and emotions of others. In turn, the album cover shows Lindeman laying in the woods, wearing a hand made suit covered in mirrors. Throughout Ignorance, she sings of trying to wear the world as a kind of ill fitting, torn garment, dangerously cold; “it does not keep me warm / I cannot ever seem to fasten it” and of walking the streets in it, so disguised and exposed.


Disc: 1
1. Separated
2. Robber
3. Wear
4. Atlantic
5. Trust
6. Tried To Tell You
7. Parking Lot
8. Heart
9. Subdivisions
10. Loss

Disc: 2
1. Tried To Tell You - Piano Rendition
2. Robber - Live
3. Parking Lot - Piano Rendition
4. Atlantic - Live
5. Loss
6. Heart - Piano Rendition
7. Subdivisions - Piano Rendition
8. Look
9. Better Now - Piano Rendition

Share this Product

More from this collection