New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
The Raconteurs - Broken Boy Soldiers

Raconteurs, The

The Raconteurs - Broken Boy Soldiers


The Raconteurs – Broken Boy Soldiers. Released via XL Recordings. Available on Vinyl LP

Reissue of ‘Broken Boy Soldiers’ on 180gram vinyl with a copper-embossed gatefold tip-on jacket.

The Raconteurs consist of Jack Lawrence (bass), Patrick Keeler (drums), Brendan Benson (guitars,
vocals, keys) and Jack White (guitars, vocals, keys).

The seed was sewn in an attic in the middle of a hot summer when friends Jack White and Brendan Benson got together and wrote a song that truly inspired them. This song was ‘Steady, As She Goes’ and the inspiration led to the creation of a full band with the addition of Lawrence and Keeler.

When Jack White formed The Raconteurs with his longtime Detroit crony Brendan Benson, the two friends proclaimed they were working on “Detroit’s answer to Nevermind.” But on Broken Boy Soldiers, they sound more like a fractured skunkweed version of Seventies-style Camaro rock. If you have a favorite Foghat album or if you can name a single member of Deep Purple, you will love Broken Boy Soldiers; fortunately, it doesn’t end there. It’s White’s first real musical collaboration — he always vowed the White Stripes could never use a bassist, or any other interloper, because he didn’t want to kill the Stripes’ one-on-one spontaneity. But as a Raconteur, he thrives on the band interaction, sharing vocals, songwriting and guitar solos with Benson.

Tracklisting: The Raconteurs – Broken Boy Soldiers

1. Steady, As She Goes
2. Hands
3. Broken Boy Soldier 
4. Intimate Secretary
5. Together
6. Level
7. Store Bought Bones
8. Yellow Sun
9. Call It A Day
10. Blue Veins

Share this Product

More from this collection