New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Swans - Soundtracks For The Blind


Swans - Soundtracks For The Blind


4 LP set in carded gatefold sleeve.

Originally released in 1996, and the band’s last studio album prior to their 2010 reformation. As dramatic excursions go, Soundtracks for the Blind equals the best. Running over two-and-a-half-hours, this would be a grueling enough listen even without the bejeweled brilliance of the ten actual songs nestled among the found-soundscapes, ambient decompositions and twisted electronic noises that constitute the album's remaining sixteen fragments. What is hard to convey in print however, is the flow of the album as a whole, the manner in which a vocal track alternates with an instrumental, the carefully crafted ordering which, ultimately, does so much to gloriously disorient the listener. soundtracks' sheer length and immensity are its own best explanation.

“Soundtracks for the Blind keeps you in awe for throughout the entire album, never letting you get too far away from its infernal grasp…” Sputnik Music 4.5/5 

“Everything from raging electric music in extreme to the gentlest of acoustic strums can be found here, ultimately being a perfect encapsulation of Swans' sound -- as much as any greatest-hits anthology could ever have been.” AllMusic 4.5/5



A1 Red Velvet Corridor
A2 Helpless Child

B1 I Was A Prisoner In Your Skull
B2 Live Through Me
B3 Yum-Yab Killers
B4 The Beautiful Days

C1 Volcano
C2 Mellothumb
C3 All Lined Up
C4 Surrogate 2

D1 How They Suffer
D2 Animus

E1 Red Velvet Wound
E2 The Sound
E3 Her Mouth Is Filled With Honey

F1 Blood Section
F2 Hypogirl
F3 Minus Something
F4 Empathy

G1 I Love You This Much
G3 Fan's Lament

H1 Secret Friends
H2 The Final Sacrifice
H3 YRP 2
H4 Surrogate Drone

Share this Product

More from this collection