New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Nina Simone - The Colpix Singles

Nina Simone

Nina Simone - The Colpix Singles


The Colpix singles, many available in their original edits since their first released in the 1960s.

A child virtuoso whose piano recitals were local events, Nina Simone started her musical career as a classically trained pianist, strongly rooted in the works of Bach, and became a singer almost by accident. The rest is history.

Her recordings, over the next five decades, earned her cult status, critical acclaim and reached the top of the charts on many occasions. Between 1959 and 1964, she was signed to Colpix, who relinquished all creative control to her, including the choice of material. Her voice at her finest, she worked her way through jazz and blues standards like ‘The Work Song’ and ‘I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)’, folk tunes like ‘Little Liza Jane’ and ‘Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair’, her very own ‘Blackbird’ and ‘I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl’.

This compilation gathers all the singles released by Colpix with their original edits, in mono*. *7 of these edits available for the first time since first released.


A1. Chilly Winds Don’t Blow
A2. Children Go Where I Send You
A3. The Other Woman
A4. Summertime
A6. Since My Love Has Gone
A7. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
B1. Trouble In Mind
B2. Work Song
B3. Gin House Blues
B4. Come On Back Jack
B5. In The Evening By The Moonlight
B6. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
B7. Little Liza Jane

Share this Product

More from this collection