New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0

Nina Simone

Nina Simone - The Amazing Nina Simone (Purple Vinyl Edition)


LP - Limited Edition 180g Purple Vinyl with bonus track

Nina Simone made her first trip into the studio in New York during 1957 to record her debut album Little Girl Blue. In addition to her piano playing and vocals, the session featured Jimmy Bond on bass and Albert “Tootie” Heath on drums. At 25-years old, Simone’s performance boasted all the passion and ebullience of youth, and all the skill and grace of a seasoned veteran. The album has since become a classic, and these were her first recordings ever!

Simone would not record again for two years. She signed a contract with the New York-based label Colpix Records in 1959, with whom she recorded her second album, The Amazing Nina Simone (Colpix SCP407). The LP features her singing (and playing a little piano) with an orchestra (the personnel is unknown) under the direction of Bob Mersey (four tunes that complete the sessions have been added as a bonus).


Side A
1. Blue Prelude
2. Children Go Where I Send You
3. Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More)
4. Stompin’ At The Savoy
5. It Might As Well Be Spring
6. You’ve Been Gone Too Long
7. I Loves You Porgy*
8. Falling In Love Again (I Can’t Help It)

Side B
1. That’s Him Over There
2. Chilly Winds Don’t Blow
3. Theme From “The Middle Of The Night”
4. Can’t Get Out Of This Mood
5. Willow Weep For Me
6. Solitaire
7. That’s All
8. The Man With A Horn
9. My Baby Just Cares For Me

* = Bonus Track

Share this Product

More from this collection