New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
McCoy Tyner Trio - Inception

McCoy Tyner

McCoy Tyner Trio - Inception


McCoy Tyner took a break from the classic John Coltrane Quartet of the early ‘60s to record this, his debut solo album, in January of 1962. Originally released later that same year on the legendary Impulse! label, Inception is essentially the John Coltrane Quartet minus Coltrane as it features Art Davis on bass and Elvin Jones on drums. A mellow and lyrical album that includes 4 Tyner originals, Inception is an early look at the work of one of post-bop jazz’ finest pianists. Includes original liner notes. 180 gram LP.


Share this Product

More from this collection