New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Kings Of Convenience - Declaration Of Dependence

Kings Of Convenience

Kings Of Convenience - Declaration Of Dependence


A 2009 release, Declaration of Dependence is the third album from the Norwegian pop/folk duo Kings of Convenience. Consisting of Erlend Øye and Eirik Glambek Bøe, the musical group is known for their delicate tunes, calming voices, and intricate and subtle guitar melodies. Øye and Bøe both compose and sing the songs.

Declaration of Dependence is the story of two people living two very different lives sensing that they are immensely more powerful together than apart. In that sense it is the most adult, the most mature record Kings of Convenience have ever made. That it is their most gripping, their most revealing is, if anything, just a by-product of that honesty and their endeavor.

"Erlend is a very stubborn individual with extreme belief in his own ideas," says Erik of his partner. "He's very free and creative and his access to unusual and fresh ideas is very good. I find that quite unique. For some reason they are very similar to my ideas on music - we like the same unusualness."

“Ignoring calls to fold Erlend Øye's hushed beats into their hushed folk, the Kings of quiet return with their most whisper-soft-- and graceful-- record yet.” 

Share this Product

More from this collection