New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Fleetwood Mac -  Bare Trees

Fleetwood Mac

Fleetwood Mac - Bare Trees

The years 1969-1972 marked the first of many transitional periods in the storied history of the unrivaled Fleetwood Mac. Blues-rock masterwork Then Play On (1969) was the band's first with guitarist/songwriter Danny Kirwan who would help steer them through their next three albums Kiln House (1970), Future Games (1971) and Bare Trees (1972), and ultimately their last with founding member Peter Green. 
Kiln House, their first sans-Peter Green, found the group broadening their sound and gravitating toward more melodic pop material while their shift toward pop and folk styles continued on Future Games, the band's first with Christine McVie and Bob Welch as full-time members. The line-up stayed the same for Bare Trees, which boasts a consistently strong collection of songs like McVie’s “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love,” Kirwan’s “Dust” and Welch’s “Sentimental Lady.” Although Kirwan was a dominant figure during the recording, penning half of the songs, it would ultimately be his last appearance on a Fleetwood Mac album.
"There are arguably three “definitive” Fleetwood Mac lineups. One of them is the blues-oriented band of the late Sixties, which arrayed three guitarists (Green, Spencer and Kirwan) around the rhythm section of Fleetwood and McVie. They are best represented by 1969’s Then Play On, a milestone in progressive blues-rock. After Green’s exodus in mid-1970, the remaining members cut the more easygoing, rock and roll-oriented Kiln House. Early in 1971, a born-again Spencer abruptly left the band during a U.S. tour to join the Children of God. 
"The second key configuration found Fleetwood, McVie and Kirwan joined by keyboardist Christine McVie (born Christine Perfect, she’d married bassist McVie) and guitarist Bob Welch, a Southern Californian who became the group’s first American member and a harbinger of new directions. This configuration produced a pair of ethereal pop masterpieces, Future Games (1971) and Bare Trees (1972)." - Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
Track Listing:
1.  Child Of Mine
2.  The Ghost
3.  Homeward Bound
4.  Sunny Side Of Heaven
5.  Bare Trees
6.  Sentimental Lady
7.  Danny's Chant
8.  Spare Me A Little Of Your Love
9.  Dust
10. Thoughts On A Grey Day


Share this Product

More from this collection