New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Duke Ellington & John Coltrane  (Impulse Audiophile Edition)

Duke Ellington

Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (Impulse Audiophile Edition)


Verve Acoustic Sounds Series.
This essential 1962 album showcases the modern jazz saxophone innovator performing alongside the colossus of jazz piano and composition. Only Coltrane could be this 'fiercely tender,' and there's no better forum for his sensitive side than the music of Ellington and Billy Strayhorn, who contributes the album's true gem, 'My Little Brown Book.' Ellington is wise enough to appreciate the nature of the session and is quite content to feed chords in service of the young master--proving the old master's open mind and good taste— most obviously on their now-classic 'In a Sentimental Mood'.



  1. In A Sentimental Mood 4:12
  2. Take The Coltrane 4:40
  3. Big Nick 4:25
  4. Stevie 4:20


  1. My Little Brown Book 5:20
  2. Angelica 5:56
  3. The Feeling Of Jazz 5:30

Share this Product

More from this collection