New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Confessin’ The Blues Vol 1

Various Artists

Confessin’ The Blues Vol 1


BMG & UNIVERSAL PRESENT CONFESSIN’ THE BLUES ORIGINAL BLUES MASTERPIECES HAND-PICKED AND CURATED IN COLLABORATION WITH THE ROLLING STONES DONATION TO WILLIE DIXON’S BLUES HEAVEN FOUNDATION COVER ARTWORK BY RONNIE WOOD As well as being the biggest band in the world, The Rolling Stones are also the biggest champions of the blues, so who better to curate a compilation in collaboration with BMG and Universal, of the music that inspired them throughout their career? Confessin’ The Blues collects together the greatest bluesmen ever and provides a perfect education to the genre. The tracklisting on the various formats has been chosen by The Rolling Stones, in collaboration with BMG and Universal and will be released on BMG on 9 November. The Rolling Stones have long been supporters of the Blues from before the start of their career right through to their latest album, Blue & Lonesome which featured their interpretations of the classics, many of which appear in their original versions here on Confessin’ The Blues. Mick Jagger was an early fan of the Blues: “The first Muddy Waters album that was really popular was Muddy Waters at Newport, which was the first album I ever bought”. Keith Richards said, “If you don't know the blues... there's no point in picking up the guitar and playing rock and roll or any other form of popular music.” The album cover artwork comes courtesy of Stones guitarist Ronnie Wood who has added his own personal twist to the project by painting his interpretation of a Bluesman. Confessin’ The Blues is a real musical education from those who know the genre best, the greatest living band on the planet, The Rolling Stones.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Rollin' Stone - By Muddy Waters
  2. Little Red Rooster - By Howlin' Wolf
  3. Dust My Broom - By Sonny Boy Williamson
  4. I'm A King Bee - By Slim Harpo
  5. You Can't Judge A Book By It's Cover - By Bo Diddley
  6. Little Queenie - By Chuck Berry


Disc: 2

  1. Boogie Chillen - By John Lee Hooker
  2. I Hate to See You Go - By Little Walter
  3. Bright Lights, Big City - By Jimmy Reed
  4. Love In Vain Blues - By Robert Johnson
  5. You Gotta Move - By Mississippi Fred McDowell


Disc: 3

  1. Just Like I Treat You - By Howlin' Wolf
  2. Ride 'Em On Down - By Eddie Taylor
  3. Blue and Lonesome - By Little Walter
  4. Hoodoo Blues - By Lightnin' Slim
  5. Crawdad. - By Bo Diddley


Disc: 4

  1. Just Your Fool - By Little Walter
  2. All Your Love - By Magic Sam
  3. Worried Life Blues - By Big Maceo Merriweather
  4. Down The Road Apiece - By Amos Milburn
  5. Confessin' the Blues (with Walter Brown) [Single Version] - By Jay McShann


Share this Product

More from this collection