New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Bob Dylan - Oh Mercy

Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan - Oh Mercy


1989 album 'Oh Mercy,' without a doubt one of his finest albums of the '80s, and by some accounts the start of his late-career creative comeback, is being given the vinyl reissue treatment.

'Oh Mercy' reportedly came about as the result of an unexpectedly sudden burst of songwriting from Dylan, who had gone a while without feeling inspired to pen anything. At the suggestion of U2 lead singer Bono, Dylan brought in Daniel Lanois, who had worked on their landmark 'The Joshua Tree' album as well as records by Peter Gabriel and others, to produce the album.

According to Dylan's own book, 'Chronicles, Vol. 1,' the partnership was a difficult but ultimately rewarding one, with the pair clashing over arrangements, tempos and overdubs, but ultimately creating one of Dylan's most cohesive and appealingly textured albums in years.

It couldn't have been that rough of an assignment, because in 1997 the two reunited for another classic album, 'Time Out of Mind.'

Highlights of the album include the upbeat, vaguely Bo Diddly-ish rhythms of 'Political World,' the churchy piano anthem 'Ring Them Bells,' and the snarling 'What Was It You Wanted.' The album's first single 'Everything is Broken' was apparently a source of much debate between Dylan and Lanois, but has become a fan favorite over time, as has the stirring, rueful ballad 'Most of the Time.'

The attention-grabbing cover art was taken directly from a mural Dylan rode past on a bicycle one day on the way to the studio, with CBS record label representatives having to track down the extremely poor and understandably skeptical artist, named Trotksy, in order to secure the rights.


  • Political World
  • Where Teardrops Fall
  • Everything Is Broken
  • Ring Them Bells
  • Man in the Long Black Coat
  • Most of the Time
  • What Good Am I?
  • Disease of Conceit
  • What Was It You Wanted
  • Shooting Star

Share this Product

More from this collection