New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
Band, The - Music From The Big Pink

Band, The

Band, The - Music From The Big Pink


Double LP - remastered at 45 RPM

The Band’s landmark debut album, Music from Big Pink, seemed to spring from nowhere and everywhere. Drawing from the American roots music panoply of country, blues, R&B, gospel, soul, rockabilly, the honking tenor sax tradition, hymns, funeral dirges, brass band music, folk, and rock ‘n’ roll, The Band forged a timeless new style that forever changed the course of popular music. Fifty years later, the mythology surrounding Music from Big Pink lives on through the evocative storytelling of its songs including “The Weight,” “This Wheel’s On Fire,” “Tears of Rage,” and “To Kingdom Come,” its enigmatic cover art painted by Bob Dylan, the salmon-colored upstate New York house – ‘Big Pink’ -- where The Band wrote the songs, and in myriad descendant legends carried forth since the album’s stunning arrival.

1 Tears Of Rage  
2 To Kingdom Come  
1 In A Station  
2 Caledonia Mission  
3 The Weight  
1 We Can Talk  
2 Long Black Veil  
3 Chest Fever  
1 Lonesome Suzie  
2 This Wheel’s On Fire  
3 I Shall Be Released

Share this Product

More from this collection