Open Mon - Sat 9am to 5.30pm
Cart 0

Various Artists

808 - The Music


808 chronicles the incredible story of the influential Roland TR-808 drum machine, a small but powerful piece of technology that changed the course of music history. Narrated by Beats 1’s Zane Lowe, the film features commentary and contributions from such superstars as Pharrell Williams, Afrika Bambaataa, Questlove, The Beastie Boys, Damon Albarn, David Guetta, Phil Collins, Diplo, New Order, and Norman Cook (Fatboy Slim), as well as pioneering producers including Rick Rubin, Jellybean Benitez, Hank Shocklee, and Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis. The filmmakers’ three year journey concludes in the 808’s birthplace of Japan, where Roland founder Mr. Ikutaro Kakehashi at last reveals the untold reason for the machine’s mysterious early discontinuation, just as it was turning up on more hit records than any other drum machine.

 This collection is a celebration of the contribution this humble analog device has made to the music industry. It doesn't sound like a drum kit, it sounds like an 808 drum machine! That is the secret to its success. 

Double LP set - released Jan 2017

Track list

1. Planet Rock (Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force)
2. Paul Revere (Beastie Boys)
3. Yo! Bum Rush The Show (Public Enemy)
4. Hip Hop, Be Bop (Don't Stop) (Man Parrish)
5. Play At Your Own Risk (Planet Patrol)
6. Let The Music Play (Shannon)
7. Set It Off (Strafe)
8. It's Yours (T La Rock & Jazzy J)
9. Flow Coma (808 State)
10. Kickdrum (Felix da Housecat)
11.  What U Gon' Do (feat. Lil Scrappy) (Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz)
12. Vibrate (Flux Pavilion)
13. Gosh (Jamie xx)
14. Nothing But Trouble (Instagram Models) (Lil Wayne & Charlie Puth)

Share this Product

More from this collection