New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0
The Beatles - Revolver

Beatles, The

The Beatles - Revolver


Re-mastered at abbey road, housed in a triple panel card package with historical notes and a mini documentary on the album. directed by bob smeaton, the documentary is included as quicktime files on each album. it contains archival footage, rare photographs and never-before-heard studio chat from the beatles, offering a unique and very personal insight into the studio atmosphere. arguably the first psychedelic rock album, 'revolver' was praised for its musical experimentation - the indian sounds of 'love you to,' the motown-inspired 'got to get you into my life,' the backwards guitar in 'i'm only sleeping.' 'tomorrow never knows' was the most radical departure from previous beatles' recordings for its skeletal bass / drums propulsion enhanced only with tape loops (contributed by all four beatles and added in the mix-down process), more backwards guitar, and an eerie john lennon vocal. still, the beatles' experimentation grew out of their songwriting, which had matured beyond formula pop. 'tomorrow never knows' was inspired by the tibetan book of the dead, harrison's 'taxman' was a bitter diatribe, and mccartney's 'eleanor rigby' was a bleak portrait of loneliness. balanced with upbeat songs like 'good day sunshine' and 'yellow submarine,' 'revolver' proved the beatles were not mere pop stars, but musical artists in search of new sounds and ideas.



1 Taxman  
2 Eleanor Rigby  
3 Love You To  
4 Here, There And Everywhere  
5 Yellow Submarine  
6 She Said She Said  
7 Good Day Sunshine  
8 For No One  
9 I want To Tell You  
10 Got To Get You Into My Life  
11 Tomorrow Never Knows

Share this Product

More from this collection