New opening times Tues - Fri 10am - 5pm & Sat 9am - 5pm Closed Sun/Mon
Cart 0

13th Floor Elevators

13th Floor Elevators - 13 Of The Best (Red Vinyl)


The triumvirate of Roky Erickson, Tommy Hall and Stacy Sutherland had to feature.

Transcendent slower songs (often) don't feature full band performances - so, no Splash One.

The song had to be a band original.

So, no Baby Blue.

13 unlucky for some.

This compilation launches a new phase in the 13th Floor Elevators catalogue and previews the forthcoming series THE QUEST FOR PURE SANITY: the release in optimal quality of all surviving source material for all of the band's recordings.

'13 OF THE BEST' has been mastered separately to vinyl, CD, digital and streaming for the best possible sound quality for each format.

Each original source has been referenced to the earliest vinyl pressing and meticulously transferred at 96khz 24- bit resolution.

Multitrack tapes of the original recording sessions have been newly mixed in strict accordance with the records as first released.

'You're Gonna Miss Me', the band's seminal single, is presented here for the first time in true stereo.

Taken from the original multitrack session tape, the song has been mixed to stereo in accordance with the iconic mono 45 as recorded and engineered by Walt Andrus.

'Slip Inside This House' viewed by fans and critics alike as the Elevators' masterpiece and one of the key psychedelic recordings of the era, is included on the LP as the edited mono single mix so the loudest possible cut can be achieved.

The eight-minute stereo version is included on all other formats.

'Never Another', 'Dr Doom' and 'Livin' On' from the band's final sessions have been newly mixed but without the overdubs added almost a year after recording.

While the session tapes survive, the overdubs do not.

'Livin' On' features Roky Erickson's original superior vocal performance instead of the overdub used on the 'BULL OF THE WOODS' LP.

Share this Product

More from this collection